Citizenship Award

Since 2005, the Citizenship Award has been awarded each year to Belgian or international people, initiatives or organisations who invest in the building of an open, democratic, tolerant and inclusive society, in an exemplary way.

Discover the film made on the occasion of the 10th anniversary of the Citizenship Award here:

Previous award winners

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​2021: Jean Drèze

The 17th Citizenship Award goes to Jean Drèze for his work as a development economist and his fight for social equality in India and elsewhere. He is a passionate advocate of research for action: economic research that wants to improve the world. (Download pdf award)


2020 : Waad al-Kateab

The 16th Citizenship Award was given to journalist and filmmaker Waad al-Kateab. The jury chose to reward the career of a female journalist from Syria, for her active and militant citizenship. She works passionately in favour of freedom of speech and respect for the opinion of others, human rights, the right to health care, as well as the safety of nurses and doctors. ​​​​​​​(Download pdf award)


2019: Virginie Nguyen and Geert Mak

The 15th Citizenship Prize was awarded to journalists Virginie Nguyen and Geert Mak. The jury chose to reward two laureates who project in an accessible way, through testimonies and portraits of ordinary people, a narrative and a broader vision of society. And they do it perfectly, each in their own way: one through the image and the other through the words.

(Download pdf award) 



2018: Michel Pradolini

The fourteenth Citizenship Prize went to a Belgian personality. Michel Pradolini is a committed entrepreneur and the founder and chairman of City Pirates, a widely supported social project and football club active in various neighborhoods of Antwerp, which has 1,200 young people.





2017: Paul Collier

The Citizenship Award 2017 was accorded to an internationally-recognised academic luminary who specialises in development and migration issues. Paul Collier combines his excellent academic work with his strong, pragmatic commitment to more equality and social justice in the world. He has also shown a very high level of social engagement in at least three areas: economic development in Africa, the fight against poverty and refugee issues. (Download pdf Award Winner 2017)

2016: Michel Claise and Jan Nolf

Because it is one of the cornerstones of a democratic country and because it is today under heavy pressure, justice is the public sector which was chosen for the Citizenship Award 2016. The Citizenship Award 2016 was given out to Jan Nolf, honorary justice of the peace and critical ovserver and Michel Claise, investigating magistrate specialised in financial crime. (Download pdf Award Winner 2016)

2015: Eric Domb and Frans De Clerck

The Citizenship Award 2015 has been accorded to Eric Domb, founder of Pairi Daiza, and Frans De Clerck, co-founder of Triodos bank Belgium. These two men have shown that entrepreneurship is compatible with exemplary citizenship and with an ethical and respectful approach of the human being, of society and the planet. They also have demonstrated that entrepreneurship can be a key component of exemplary citizenship, as well as an important means to strive for a better world. (Download pdf Award Winner 2015)



2014: Ho Chul Chantraine et Reinhilde Decleir

In 2014, the Citizenship Award was accorded to two persons who daily give socially vulnerable people the opportunity to participate in society: Reinhilde Decleir, actress and instigator of the Theater Company "Tutti Fratelli" and Ho Chul Chantraine, Founder of Agricovert, a cooperative company with social objectives and available for ecological producers. (Download pdf Award Winner 2014)




2013: Jan Goossens

2013 : Jan Goossens, Artistic Director of the Brussels Royal Flemish Theatre (KVS). He has led the KVS to a urban and contemporary theater, focusing on diversity in his own country and on cultural wealth elsewhere in the world. (download pdf Award winner 2013)

   © Stephan Vanfleteren

2012: Dr. Izzeldin Abuelaish

2012 : Dr. Izzeldin Abuelaish, peace activist and author of " I Shall Not Hate". (download pdf Award winner 2012)

2011: Stéphane Hessel

2011 : Stéphane Hessel, author of « Time for Outrage: Indignez-vous » (download pdf Award winner 2011)

2010: Jacqueline Rousseau and Guido Verschueren

2010: Jacqueline Rousseau, founder of Adeppi (Atelier d'Education Permanente pour Personnes Incarcérées) and Guido Verschueren, director of the Central Prison of Leuven. (download pdf Award winner 2010)

2009 : Kif Kif and Les Territoires de la Mémoire

2009 : Kif Kif and Les Territoires de la Mémoire, two Belgian associations wich spread the value of solidarity and dialogue. (download pdf Award winner 2009)

2008: Jeanne Devos en Simone Susskind

2008: Jeanne Devos, a militant human rights activist and founder of the National Domestic Workers Movement (MDWM) and Simone Susskind, chairwoman of the Actions in the Mediterranean Association. (download pdf Award winner 2008)

2007 : Khady Koita

2007: Khady Koita, a militant Senegalese human rights activist and the chairwoman of Euronet FGM (European network for the eradication of feminine genital mutilation) and the author of the book Les Mutilées (Mutilated Women). (download pdf Award winner 2007)

2006 : Wannes van de Velde en the Dardenne brothers

2006: Wannes Van de Velde, a Flemish singer, plastic arts creator and writer and brothers Luc and Jean-Pierre Dardenne, film-makers. (download pdf Award winner 2006)

2005 : Fadela Amara and Job Cohen

2005: Fadela Amara, then chairwoman of the "Ni Putes Ni Soumises" (Neither Whores Nor Submissives) organisation, today secretary of state in the French government and Job Cohen, mayor of Amsterdam. (download pdf Award winner 2005)


© Stephan Vanfleteren