YOUTH FORUM 

 

 

 

 

With its "Connecting You(th)" project, the P&V Foundation aims to overcome social divisions among young people. The project consists of two parts: a call for projects and a youth forum. This project, which was carried out with the support of the National Lottery, is an opportunity for twenty young people aged between 16 and 23, from different backgrounds and from all over Belgium, to gain experience in active citizenship. 

Composition and purpose of the Youth Forum

Our Youth Forum consists of a heterogeneous group of Belgian young people aged between 17 and 23 who did not know each other beforehand. They differ in terms of education, migration background, place of residence, interests and hobbies, etc. 
On the one hand, we want to enable this diverse group of 20 young people from all over Belgium to understand the regional and local realities of our country, let them identify the breaking points and try to find solutions for them. In other words, to empower young people and let them become an actor in the social debate. On the other hand, we want to bring the good practices from the call for projects that effectively bridge gaps and/or foster social cohesion to the attention of policy makers and the general public, during our final conference and through further dissemination.

Preparation of the Youth Forum

During two preparatory weekends, the young people of the Youth Forum were trained and coached to fully fulfil their role as members of the Youth Forum. For that aim, they were given sessions on citizenship, which gaps there are in society, how to debate without conflict, how to look at a problem through different glasses, ... The youngsters got to know each other better through fun and cultural activities. They had the chance to meet academics, social entrepreneurs and coaches. All these people and workshops provided the young people with tools to be a member of the Youth Forum.

Evaluation of the winning projects

Following the selection and implementation of the projects in the call for projects (from February 2022), it is time to move on to evaluation and reflection. This first stage starts in Ghent, Flanders. On the programme of the Youth Forum: workshops on the evaluation of projects and scenarios for the future of society, visits to projects, and fun activities! 
The weekend started with a visit to Ghent Basketball, where youngsters from the Youth Forum were able to play against Ghent youngsters. The non-profit organisation Touché, with coach Wesley, came to talk about how to help make the world positively aggressive. The youngsters also learned about the obstacles and achievements of organisations such as iDrops that that aim to build bridges between neurodiverse and neurotypical young people. They were enthusiastic about the cultural projects of the youngsters of De Kazematten and the encouners between the youngsters of LEJO and the young scouts of FOS. Finally, a visit to the S.M.A.K. opened up a new world for them, that of contemporary art.

Thanks to our partners: National Lottery, Kunstencentrum VIERNULVIER, and S.M.A.K. who contributed with financial support, space or time to make this project possible.

What’s next?

The next step will take place from 3 to 5 February in Namur for the visit of a number of projects supported in the Walloon region, the lessons learned of the projects already visited, and the preparation of the final conference on 19 April 2023.


Project supported by the National Lottery

FORUM DES JEUNES 

 

 

 

Avec son projet "Connecting You(th)", la Fondation P&V vise à surmonter les clivages sociaux chez les jeunes. Le projet est composé de deux volets : un appel à projet et un forum de jeunes. Ce projet réalisé avec le soutien de la Loterie Nationale est l’occasion pour vingt jeunes âgés de 16 à 23 ans, d’horizons divers et de toute la Belgique, d’acquérir de l’expérience en citoyenneté active. 

Composition et objectif du Forum de Jeunes


Notre Forum de Jeunes est composé d'un groupe hétérogène de jeunes Belges âgés de 17 à 23 ans qui ne se connaissaient pas auparavant. Ils diffèrent en termes d'éducation, de parcours migratoire, de lieu de résidence, d'intérêts et de loisirs, etc. 
D'une part, nous voulons permettre à ce groupe diversifié d'une vingtaine de jeunes de toute la Belgique de comprendre les réalités régionales et locales de notre pays, les laisser identifier les points de rupture et tenter d'y apporter des solutions. En d'autres termes, il s'agit de responsabiliser les jeunes et de leur permettre de devenir un acteur du débat social. D'autre part, nous voulons attirer l'attention des politiques et du grand public sur les bonnes pratiques issues de l'appel à projet qui comblent efficacement les fossés entre les jeunes et/ou promeuvent la cohésion sociale, lors de notre conférence finale et par une dissémination ultérieure. 


Préparation du Forum des Jeunes


Au cours de deux week-ends préparatoires, les jeunes du Forum de Jeunes ont été formés et guidés pour remplir pleinement leur rôle de membres du Forum de Jeunes. Ainsi, ils ont suivi des workshops sur la citoyenneté, les clivages de la société, la manière de débattre sans conflit, la manière de regarder un problème avec des lunettes différentes, ... Les jeunes ont appris à mieux se connaître grâce à des activités ludiques et culturelles. Ils ont eu la chance de rencontrer des universitaires, des entrepreneurs sociaux et des coachs. Toutes ces personnes et ces ateliers ont fourni aux jeunes des outils pour siéger au Forum des Jeunes.

Evaluation des projets gagnants


A la suite de la sélection et la mise en place des projets de l’appel à projets (à partir de février 2022), il est temps de passer à l’évaluation et à la réflexion. Cette première étape démarre en Flandres à Gand. Au programme du Forum des Jeunes : workshops autour de l’évaluation de projets et des scénarios d’avenir de la société, visites de projets, et activités ludiques ! 
Le temps d’un match avec les Ghent Basketball, ils ont côtoyé des jeunes de Gand. L’asbl Touché est venu raconter comment surmonter les failles et redonner du positif avec le coach Wesley. Les jeunes se sont aussi rendu compte des obstacles et des accomplissements d’asbl comme iDrops qui travaillent avec des jeunes issus de la neurodiversité. Les jeunes étaient enthousiastes par les projets culturels des jeunes de De Kazematten et par les rencontres entre les jeunes de LEJO et les jeunes scouts de FOS. Ils n’étaient pas au bout de leur surprise quand ils ont découvert, avec la visite de S.M.A.K., un nouveau monde du possible, celui de l’art contemporain.

Merci à nos partenaires : Loterie Nationale, Kunstencentrum VIERNULVIER, et S.M.A.K. qui ont contribué par un soutien financier, la disposition d’espace ou de temps pour nous permettre de réaliser ce projet.
La suite ?

La prochaine étape aura lieu du 3 au 5 février à Namur pour la visite de quelques projets soutenus en région wallonne, les lessons learned des projets déjà visités, et la préparation du colloque final le 19 avril 2023.

 

Projet réalisé avec le soutien de la Loterie Nationale.