Linking Youth Up : Reducing the digital gap

The budget of one million euros released by the P&V Group has made it possible to support 66 associations throughout Belgium and has enabled 1,300 young people to receive a new computer and guidance to strengthen their digital skills.

The Coronavirus health crisis has a significant impact on the daily lives of all of us, but children and young people in vulnerable contexts are disproportionately affected.

Context

Not all students benefit from the same home learning conditions. Vulnerable young people are now overwhelmed by stress related to online homework, tiny living conditions, a lack of educational materials, etc. Almost 12% of young Belgian people under the age of 15 have no suitable place for studying at home. One in 20 families with children does not have a computer; in single-parent families this figure rises to 14%. Many families share a computer. In higher education, more than one in five students dropped out during the confinement. This emergency context creates a growing educational gap which will have long-lasting costs and consequences.

Program
The budget of 1 million euros is distributed as follows:


Phase 1

The first part of 700,000 euros is dedicated to the call for projects (Linking Youth Up) launched on June 2 in close collaboration with the P&V Foundation and the King Baudouin Foundation, the objective of which is to support organizations working with vulnerable young people (12 to 25 years old) by providing them with new computer equipment and digital skills.
 

Phase 2


As a follow-up to this call, a budget of 300,000 euros is intended to strengthen the good practices of organizations in terms of school and extra-curricular support, as well as support for young people who are vulnerable in the transition from school to the job market.

Corporate Social Responsibility commitment of the P&V Group

This action is in line with the CSR commitment of the P&V group. Hilde Vernaillen, CEO of the P&V Group:Since the start of the crisis, the group has taken initiatives for the benefit of its employees and its clients. In addition, the P&V group has been committed throughout its history to helping to meet social challenges. The initiative launched today is part of it and constitutes our response to an important social emergency. "

Le budget d’un million d’euros débloqué par le Groupe P&V a soutenu 66 associations dans toute la Belgique et a permis à 1300 jeunes socialement vulnérables de recevoir un ordinatuer neuf et une guidance pour renforcer leurs compétences numériques.

La crise sanitaire a un impact significatif sur la vie quotidienne de chacun d'entre nous, mais les enfants et les jeunes dans des contextes vulnérables sont frappés de manière disproportionnée.

Contexte

Tous les élèves ne bénéficient pas des mêmes conditions d’apprentissage à domicile. Les jeunes vulnérables sont aujourd'hui accablés par un stress lié aux devoirs en ligne, un logement trop exigu, un manque de matériel éducatif, etc. Près de12% des jeunes belges de moins de 15 ans n'ont pas de lieu approprié pour faire leurs devoirs ou étudier à la maison. Une famille avec enfants sur vingt n’a pas d’ordinateur ; dans les familles monoparentales ce chiffre s’élève à 14%. De nombreuses familles se partagent un ordinateur. Dans le supérieur, plus d’un étudiant sur cinq a décroché pendant le confinement. Le contexte d’urgence crée un fossé éducationnel grandissant. Cette fracture aura un coût et des conséquences sur la société de demain. 

Programme 
Le budget de 1 million d’euros est réparti comme suit :  

Phase 1
La première tranche de 700.000 euros est dédiée à l’appel à projet Linking Youth Up lancé ce 2 juin en étroite collaboration avec la Fondation P&V et la Fondation Roi Baudouin et dont l’objectif est de soutenir les organisations travaillant avec les jeunes fragilisés (de 12 à 25 ans) en leur fournissant du matériel informatique neuf et des compétences numériques. 


Phase 2
Dans la prolongation de cet appel, un budget de 300.000 euros a pour objectif de renforcer les bonnes pratiques des organisations en matière de soutien scolaire et extra-scolaire et d’accompagnement de jeunes fragilisés dans la transition de l'école au marché du travail.

Engagement sociétal du Groupe P&V 
Cette action s’inscrit dans la continuité de l’engagement sociétal du groupe P&V. Hilde Vernaillen, CEO du Groupe P&V : « Depuis le début de la crise le groupe a pris des initiatives au bénéfice de son personnel et de ses assurés. De plus, le groupe P&V s’est engagé tout au long de son histoire à contribuer à relever les défis sociétaux. L'initiative lancée aujourd'hui en fait partie et constitue notre réponse à une urgence sociale importante. ». 

Plus d’information sur le projet, lisez le communiqué de presse